Cruise America 30' RV Review and Walk Through

Cruise America 30' RV Review and Walk Through

If you trouble playing this video on a mobile device, please try the re-uploaded version here:

—————————————————–

Hi! Thanks for stopping by. This video is a walk through and review of the Cruise America 30′ “C30” 7-passenger large RV. Available from 125 rental locations throughout the US and Canada. I am not an employee of Cruise America but my wife and I have rented these many times. Since information on the web can be pretty hard to find, hopefully we can provide some insight by sharing our experience.

This video is a followup to my previous review and walk through of the 25′ standard 5 passenger model which I posted last year. I had a lot of positive reaction to that video thanks to the popularity of RV travel during the Coronavirus pandemic, so will also do a bit of comparison between the two models.

If you have any questions feel free to post in the comments. Also if this video has been helpful to you please “like” and “subscribe”, it really helps me out a lot. Thanks, have a safe trip!

Link to the previous video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8iYqvyRNAo

Update 10/26/2020 – video file corruption issues?

Pinned by Mike Smith
Fazal Rehman
21 hours ago
Hi, can you delete and reupload this video cause it’s not playing properly. Whenever I play this video it keeps buffering and if it ever play it keep pausing n playing.
1
Mike Smith
34 seconds ago (edited)
Hi! Thanks for the comment, and for letting me know. I checked this myself on my mobile phone (Android, YouTube app) and saw the same problem. I also tried it in Chrome browser on my phone and saw the problem. Then I tried it on my PC (in Firefox, Chrome, and Edge) and it played correctly on all of those browsers. So it seems like an issue playing it back on mobile phones?

I wonder if it’s related to an ad that’s trying to play before the video, or something? It used to play correctly, it’s almost like the video got corrupted on YouTube’s server. 😭 I’ve posted a message on YouTube support forum but you know they don’t really respond on there unless you are a big-time content creator with a million subscribers. Will keep an eye on it, hopefully they’ll fix it – if not I’ll have to re-upload. Pretty frustrating! Thanks again for letting me know! 👍👍

50 Comments

  1. Mikki on July 16, 2022 at 2:16 am

    Hi do you have to be near electricity to get hot water and the microwave to work ?

  2. Adam Midkiff on July 16, 2022 at 2:17 am

    Nice job!

  3. Floris on July 16, 2022 at 2:20 am

    Great video. Unfortunately I hear a lot of "broken". I don’t think "covid" is a valid excuse, but thats my opinion.

  4. Prime_TymeXXL on July 16, 2022 at 2:28 am

    Do you need a class B license to drive a RV like this one mike?

  5. John Carey on July 16, 2022 at 2:29 am

    How about storage under bed? Nice unit!

  6. Mrs. Casteel on July 16, 2022 at 2:30 am

    Thank you for making this, very informative

  7. Hot Flash on July 16, 2022 at 2:30 am

    Is there storage space under the bed? How many gallons of fresh water does it hold? How much propane?

  8. Carlos Tribe on July 16, 2022 at 2:32 am

    Hi there! Looking to get into one of these as a rental. Can the generator run while driving?

  9. CallMeDaddy on July 16, 2022 at 2:33 am

    My wife left her Thong underwear accidentaly in the RV. Cruise
    America promptly informed us of the situation and we got them mailed too me wife !! Thanks Cruise America !!

  10. jamie bonovich on July 16, 2022 at 2:34 am

    Do you happen to know the size of the tires? Thinking we may need to buy chains for our week in Yosemite next month

  11. Reuben Bautista on July 16, 2022 at 2:35 am

    Great information. Thanks 🙏

  12. AJ AJ on July 16, 2022 at 2:35 am

    Would you not fall through that bed above the drivers cab? Detailed walkthrough, I’m from the UK so we don’t really have anything like this so intriguing to see all the bits before we commit to renting.

  13. Anshu Chen on July 16, 2022 at 2:37 am

    One thousandth like!

  14. Nance Fam on July 16, 2022 at 2:38 am

    Is there any storage under the bed or couch? We are renting a 30 ft as part of a move so there are a few things I would like to mostly stow away for the trip

  15. therexershow on July 16, 2022 at 2:41 am

    Is the toilet as uncomfortable as the 25’ model?

  16. Monika Konvalinka on July 16, 2022 at 2:42 am

    Thank you so much for this video! We are renting this 30ft RV next month driving the whole west coast and this video really helped a lot to see what to expect. We have never driven RV before. Do you think getting a 30ft RV for someone who has only driven Prius in the past would be little too much to handle? We were thinking about getting the 25ft (and watched your video on it as well), but we like how this one is so much better on space. But we are little worried since it is so long. What do you think? I just don’t want my husband to take some gas pump with us after leaving the gas station etc…

  17. Travis Maddox on July 16, 2022 at 2:42 am

    Too bad there RV sales don’t take trades I’ll have to sell my class A first

  18. synaptik111 on July 16, 2022 at 2:44 am

    Thanks for this walkaround. How do you find CA’s service in general recently? I’ve seen and read a lot of horror stories related to unsafe vehicles, dirty vehicles, unresponsive customer service when problems are encountered while traveling etc, so I’m leaning towards doing RVEzy or some other RV rental company right now. Any feedback would greatly appreciated – Thanks!

  19. Dave Nugen on July 16, 2022 at 2:44 am

    do you need the donut for the waste house? how about chemicals for the grey/black waste tanks?

  20. John Galt on July 16, 2022 at 2:45 am

    Great job. We rented this 30′ for a long trip later this year. Thank you.

  21. Melissa V on July 16, 2022 at 2:46 am

    Since the outlets don’t work without the generator or being hooked up… what type of charger outlet do they have up by the driver? Is it a USB or a cigarette lighter type of plug? Curious about charging phones while driving. Thx!

  22. Rutger B from NLD on July 16, 2022 at 2:47 am

    Thanks for the video mike. Really helpful. Also the 25ft one. Me and my wife are also looking into renting an RV for one of our future travels. However! We are both pretty tall, I’m 6,3ft and my wife is about 6ft. So can you tell us a little bit more about the sizes of the beds? Thank you!

  23. mark matos on July 16, 2022 at 2:49 am

    Hi was wondering can I use the propane from the rv to hook up a gas grill from the outside

  24. IhaveNoUsername on July 16, 2022 at 2:50 am

    Just curious How many beds does this have again?

  25. Mike Smith on July 16, 2022 at 2:50 am

    I get a lot of questions about how to dump the waste tanks in a Cruise America RV. Just recorded this video where I show how to do that, and also discuss a few tips like dumping a little bit of gray first if you are concerned about checking for leaks.

    Video here:

    https://youtu.be/6EBeRJBtCAs

    Thanks, hope this is helpful! 😊

  26. Susan Tittlemier on July 16, 2022 at 2:51 am

    Great video!! Thanks👍

  27. Lucien J. Noel on July 16, 2022 at 2:51 am

    We purchased our 28A in 2016. We have used ours except for last year. Made some modifications to make it a couples unit. changed the A/C to 15k unit. Replace the whole front end suspension before we made our first trip. Now it is 200% better driving now with the new after market 2ea Front & Rear Monroe Gas-Magnum 65 Shock Absorbers, and Stabilizer Bilstein 24-174534 5100 Series Steering Damper, Awning 16′,Backup Camera system: 2 Video Input Plug V1/V2, 2 ea Backup Cameras & 1 ea Color 7" Monitor,12V Outlet Socket Panel Jack, 2 Dual USB Charger, 50 AMP Power system includes 60 AMP Converter, 40 AMP DC-DC charger, 200 AMP Lithium batteries. Was thinking of trading it for a 34′ 5th wheel, but this unit tows our car well and is a lot better to park. Also being 29’9" it is allowed in all state campgrounds.

  28. Robert Stephenson on July 16, 2022 at 2:52 am

    Thank you for the videos. I am going to try to upgrade to the large RV because I feel that the 25 Ft one will be too small for me, my wife, son and golden retriever. Me and my son are both 6ft +.

  29. James Park on July 16, 2022 at 2:52 am

    How’s the fuel mileage

  30. Steve Roper on July 16, 2022 at 2:53 am

    I was wondering if the AC cools very good in the summer time! We’re use to sleeping with it around 66-68 at home. Does the cool air get all the way back to the bedroom if there are no ducts in the ceiling? How long of a shower can you take with a 6 gallon water heater? Thanks

  31. nick fenn on July 16, 2022 at 2:53 am

    thanks we are getting ours tommorow to go to cordalane

  32. Chris Kleeschulte on July 16, 2022 at 2:55 am

    actually you are better off having a full fridge because once everything is sufficiently cool/frozen, warm air from opening and closing the fridge has less chance to circulate in and warm collectively smaller mass. The same principle as large piles of snow that persist for weeks and even a month after snow fall when the air temp can be well above freezing whereas small amounts of snow melt off right away.

  33. dross24MA on July 16, 2022 at 2:56 am

    Does the passenger seat swivel?

  34. countgraham on July 16, 2022 at 2:57 am

    This video is wonderful!!! We’ll be renting this model in October this year (2022) for 12 days. What does the fridge work on while you’re driving? For instance, we’ll be traveling sometimes 7 hours in one day and having food spoil wouldn’t be good. Yes, I saw your comment about how to stack the fridge.

  35. Vkey S on July 16, 2022 at 2:58 am

    Can a G2 license holder allowed to drive this RV?

  36. A. Kay on July 16, 2022 at 2:59 am

    Do any of these vehicles have a back up camera?

  37. jprulzful on July 16, 2022 at 2:59 am

    Thank you for your incredibly helpful video Mike. I’m trying to plan a week trip in one of these with some pals soon and this pretty much answered most of my questions about amenities.
    I do have a question for you if you can answer:
    I wanted to ask if it’s possible to use a small monitor/TV screen and game console at the same time while the vehicle is in motion with the generator? I wasn’t sure how taxing it would be on the vehicle itself.

  38. Mike Smith on July 16, 2022 at 2:59 am

    If you trouble playing this video on a mobile device, please try the re-uploaded version here:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bgOoMQ1_4mA

  39. mark matos on July 16, 2022 at 2:59 am

    is there any where i can secure a tv

  40. Catherine Lather on July 16, 2022 at 3:02 am

    Thank you for your video. Not sure if I missed this but..is there a Carbon monoxicide detector in the 30 ft or any of Cruise America rentals for that matter?
    Thank you in advance and Safe travels!

  41. Denise Brown on July 16, 2022 at 3:03 am

    Mike we are getting ready to rent an rv from cruise America , this will also be our first time renting an rv for a road trip.. your video has really helped with my research. But I do have a question, when we pick ours up should I check the hoses and also check the fire extinguisher? I saw a video where a couple had rented one and the hose for the black water it was all cracked and the fire extinguisher was empty. And also the tires were in pretty bad shape as well, so now I’m stressing about our rental.

  42. mojomandingo on July 16, 2022 at 3:04 am

    Dude, you MUST be either a pilot or flight attendant. My money is on pilot! That tone, cadence and how much knowledge you throw out in repaid succession. Lol

    Also, thanks for the videos! Now renting our first one.

  43. gjurczyc on July 16, 2022 at 3:06 am

    No Ford Dealerships work on these chassis at least in MI

  44. Hal Lunsford on July 16, 2022 at 3:07 am

    Thx Mike! Like to fly into Vegas and rent and Walmart for supplies. Looks like disposable items for food prep.

  45. chevysnfirst on July 16, 2022 at 3:08 am

    Great Video! I am taking one to the races next month, and I see I may not have to take a table nw. I will check out the size once I pick up the RV. I will definitely have them walk me through everything and I will check things that you mentioned like shower door.

  46. J Rambo on July 16, 2022 at 3:09 am

    3:50 an hour to use the generator!! That is ridiculous!!

  47. Scott H on July 16, 2022 at 3:10 am

    Does the 30 amp plug have a surge protection circuit?

  48. Me Joe on July 16, 2022 at 3:13 am

    What is under the dinette benches?

  49. Mindy Holahan Peters on July 16, 2022 at 3:13 am

    Thank you! I’ve never used an RV before and this walkthrough answered some questions that their website didn’t.

  50. GZL Pete on July 16, 2022 at 3:14 am

    Thank you so much for this video as well as your video of the 25 footer. My wife and I are considering the purchase of an in the somewhat near future. We have been looking for all options and thinking about the possibilities of a used rental. As of now, your videos are the only ones we’ve seen with a detailed tour of the Cruise America products. Thanks again and we appreciate the information!

Leave a Comment